Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Students, Faculty, Staff Recognized at Honors Convocation

Honors Convocation award recipients and campus honors students for 2012.
4/21/2012 —

Students from a wide variety of academic programs, as well as faculty and staff members were honored at the 73rd Annual Delta Mu Sigma Honors Convocation at Penn State DuBois Friday night.  Awards at the Honors Convocation recognize students for an array of accomplishments, ranging from academic excellence, to overcoming hardships to succeed.  Members of the staff and faculty were celebrated for their commitment to supporting students and service to the campus and community.


"We, the faculty and staff, really enjoy taking this time to pause and recognize the students for their achievements," said Chancellor Anita McDonald.  "They've certainly risen to the occasion.  This is a very special time." 


Student and Delta Mu Sigma Chairman Adam Snyder commended his peers by saying, "These students should be proud of themselves.  They have made a difference and made this campus and their community a better place."


Delta Mu Sigma reaches out to DuBois and the surrounding area by offering community service such as a "Dine Out" event at Luigi's Restaurant, with part of the proceeds benefiting scholarship funds.  Members have volunteered with organizations like Habitat for Humanity, and organize a haunted house on campus each Halloween and donate proceeds to local charities. 


More than 200 Penn State DuBois students are members of Delta Mu Sigma. In order to qualify for membership, students must maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or above, and be involved in campus or community service.


Honors Convocation award recipients and campus honors students for 2012 are pictured left to right:



Row 1: PJ Monella, Kirsten Renwick, Colleen Coudriet, Andrew Piccolo, Adam Snyder, Marilyn Lotito, Hillary Yarger, Louise Whyte, Chrissy Lockwood, Lacey Gamble, Daniel Kalgren, Robert Powell, Brandon Genevro.


Row 2: Melissa McTavish, Melanie Gillingham, Josh Kunig, Rebecca Horner, Zachery Thayer, Cori Bus, Dawn Tett, Angela Stahlman, Alexandra Blose, Carol Lee Long, Ann Zeigler, Pam Hufnagel (assistant professor, recipient of Chancellor's Award), John Tolle (instructor, faculty award recipient), Beau Hooftallen, Judith Yablinsky.


Row 3: Terry Hinton (advising coordinator, staff award recipient), Amanda Ickes, April Sperfslage, Wanda Ferguson, Chris Albert, Jennifer Olay, Emily Callender, Kelen Fierst, Kayla Barr, Rachael Fairman, Emily Aiello, Hope Senior, Jason Long (instructor, faculty award recipient), Jessica Noland.


Row 4: Charlie Higgs, Staci Neal, Jaci Gordon, Becca Kear, Chase Lyle, Owen Samuels, Steve Zanoni, Tim Clouser, Nick Moore. 

Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter