The University serves educators across the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Many of the courses offered are for college credit. Professional development, workshops and seminars are also available and Continuing Education Units (CEUs) are awarded upon completion. These courses may qualify for Act 48 hours.
What counts for ACT 48?
Credit courses that were completed after January 1, 2000 and noncredit programs that were attended after June 1, 2000 are eligible for meeting Act 48 requirements, if taken from an approved provider. To ensure that a particular course or program will meet Act 48 requirements for you, please check with your school employer or if you are not currently employed as an educator in Pennsylvania, contact the Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE).
What are the specific deadlines for meeting the requirements?
The commencement date for Act 48 requirements for all professional educators certified after July 1, 2000 will be the date their initial certificate was granted. The requirements will be renewed at the end of each five-year period.
ACT 48 Reporting Instructions
The University serves educators across the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania by offering a diverse selection of credit courses. Professional development, workshops and seminars are also available and Continuing Education Units (CEUs) are awarded upon completion. These courses may qualify for Act 48 hours.
To facilitate reporting ACT 48 hours, Penn State has developed a secure web site that enables educators to report applicable courses directly to the Penn State Department of Education. Please understand that you can only report Act 48 hours on the Penn State system if you provided your social security number at registration.
Credit Course Reporting Instructions
PLEASE BE ADVISED: IT MAY TAKE 30 DAYS FOR THE GRADES TO BE ENTERED IN THE SYSTEM AT UNIVERSITY PARK. UPON COMPLETION OF THE PENN STATE COURSE OR WORKSHOP YOU ATTEND YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO REPORT YOUR ACT 48 HOURS UNTIL THE GRADES HAVE BEEN ENTERED INTO THE SYSTEM. IF AFTER 30 DAYS YOU STILL ARE UNABLE TO REPORT ACT 48 HOURS, PLEASE CONTACT PENN STATE DUBOIS CONTINUING EDUCATION AT 814-375-4715 AND ASK FOR JEANNINE HANES OR BETSY CARLSON.
The Penn State ACT 48 web site is www.registrar.psu.edu/act48/act48_reporting.html
If you are currently enrolled and already have an access account, then click "Current Student".
If you do not currently have a Penn State email/access account, click "Former Student" and you will go to a screen called "Penn State eAccount". Once there, you will be able to set up an account that will enable you to report your ACT 48 hours.
Once that is completed, you should then proceed to report your coursework to the PA Department of Education. You can only report one course at a time, but as soon as you complete one report, you can begin another one. Any credit courses you have completed and received a grade for are already in the system.
Non-Credit (CEU) Course Reporting Instructions
Contact the Continuing Education Office at 814-375-4718 prior to enrolling in a non-credit course to make sure the course has been approved for ACT 48 hours.
Upon completion of the course, follow the instructions above, but click on the box "Report Non-Credit Courses to PA Department of Education".
Contact Diana Ricotta at (814) 375-4718 or email DRicotta@psu.edu with questions about education courses, Act 48, masters degrees, and credit certificate programs.
Featured CE Programs
Toyota Production System (TPS) in Healthcare